Skip Navigation

Trojans Athletics

North Hardin High School


Trojans Athletics

North Hardin High School

Trojans Athletics

North Hardin High School

Game Summaries & Headlines.


3 years ago

BOYS' PREP HOOPS: 2015 5th Region Coaches' Association All-Region Team (02/19)

Feb 19, 2015 12:00 AM

In the past two seasons, Mike Cofer has gone from an interim leader to the 5th Region Coaches’ Association’s Boys’ Coach of the Year.

Thing is, some of his 17th District colleagues knew about it before Cofer did. Cofer said he had received congratulatory emails from John Hardin’s Jared McCurry, Central Hardin’s J.C. Wright and Elizabethtown’s James Haire, so Cofer scrolled through his inbox to find out what he should be congratulated for.

Cofer was coached by Haire when he played at Elizabethtown in the 1990s. Cofer and McCurry were high school and college teammates and Cofer was a four-year assistant under Wright,

“At first, I didn’t know,” Cofer said. “But to see all three of them email me and congratulate me, it’s a great feeling. They’re three great coaches themselves and they’re three people I look up to.”

Wright and Haire also received votes for Coach of the Year, as did Adair County’s Mark Fudge, Bardstown’s James “Boo” Brewer, Bardstown Bethlehem’s Artie Braden, Campbellsville’s Tim Davis, Caverna’s Orlando Hayden and Marion County’s Montrelle Irvin.

“It’s more of an honor for the boys because they’ve put in the hours and they’ve come leaps and bounds from last year,” said Cofer, whose team is 21-8 this season after going 8-21 last season. “They’re really a team this year and they enjoy playing with each other. They play for each other and not themselves and that’s what it’s about.”

Taylor County junior guard Quentin Goodin, who holds several NCAA Division-I offers, was voted the 5th Region Coaches’ Association Player of the Year. Bardstown guard Eljay Cowherd was voted the Kentucky Association of Basketball Coaches’ Association Region Player of the Year. The KABC award is only for seniors and each Region Player of the Year is guaranteed a spot in the Kentucky All-Star Team tryouts for the series against the Indiana Seniors and the Kentucky Juniors.

The area placed five players on the 15-member All-Region Team in North Hardin sophomore forward Tony Jackson, John Hardin junior guard Matt Miller, Central Hardin junior guard Patrick Nichols, Elizabethtown senior forward Zach Patterson and Elizabethtown senior forward Guy Williams.

Jackson averaged 17.3 points and 6.6 rebounds per game through the Trojans’ first 26 contests, shooting 56.9 percent from the foul line, 48.4 percent from the field and 30.9 percent from the 3-point arc.

Miller averaged 20 points and three rebounds per game through the Bulldogs’ first 24 contests, shooting 62.6 percent from the foul line, 48 percent from the field and 40.2 percent from the arc.

Nichols averaged 14.6 points and 3.4 rebounds per game through the Bruins’ first 25 contests, shooting 80.5 percent from the foul line, 41.8 percent from the field and 41.5 percent from the arc.

Patterson averaged 17.6 points and 8.7 rebounds per game in the Panthers’ first 19 contests, shooting 73.3 percent from the foul line, 48.1 percent from the field and 29.4 percent from the arc. He hasn’t played since Jan. 31, when he broke his left wrist against Casey County when he was intentionally fouled on a drive.

Williams averaged 15.7 points and 7.9 rebounds per game in the Panthers’ first 23 contests, shooting 61.3 percent from the foul line, 50.7 percent from the field and 14.1 percent from the arc.

Rounding out the team were Taylor County senior forward Brandon Berry, Green County junior guard Dominique Compton, Marion County senior guard Anton Cowherd, Caverna junior guard Mason Faulkner, Bethlehem senior guard Jude Hutchins, Adair County sophomore forward Chance Melton, Taylor County sophomore guard David Sloan and Bardstown senior guard Keanu Young.

Skip Spirit Shop Ad
Advertisement Advertisement